the aai awards 21

new architecture 21
exhibition previews 8pm saturday august 5th
exhibition runs until august 26th

This exhibition is our annual display from the winners of the AAI Awards, the series of annual awards for excellence in architectural design presented by The Architectural Association of Ireland. This year features the AAI Awards 2006, the 21st in the series.

The award winning architects’ projects presented are:

The Downes Bronze Medal may be awarded at the discretion of the Assessors. This year, the jury awarded the Downes Bronze Medal to:

Poustinia, Glencomeragh House of Prayer, Kilsheelan, Clonmel, Co Tipperary. Architects Bates Maher

The maximum number of AAI Awards is seven. This year the jury selected seven projects for Awards. They are (in alphabetical order by architect):

Sorrento Heights, Dalkey, Co Dublin Boyd Cody Architects
City House and Workplace, 41 Francis Street, Dublin 8 Donaghy + Dimond Architects
Extension to Dept of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Trinity College Grafton Architects
Engineers Ireland, 20 Clyde Road, Dublin 4 McCullough Mulvin Architects
House at Crouch End, London Niall McLoughlin Architects
Brooke Heussaff Library, 607 South Circular Road, Dublin 8 NJBA Architects 13a Thor Place, Stoneybatter, Dublin 7 ODOS Architects

A number of entries may be selected for Special Mention. This year the jury selected 8 projects for Special Mention. They are (in alphabetical order by architect):

House, Richmond Place, Rathmines, Dublin 6 Boyd Cody Architects
Two Up Two Down, John Dillon Street, Dublin 8 de Paor Architects
Kitchen-Garden-Party-Wall, 13 Arran Road, Drumcondra, Dublin 9 Donaghy + Dimond Architects
Martin Valley Sculpture Park, Cork FKL Architects
Reuben Street Apartments, Dublin 8 FKL Architects
Ijburg, Blok 4, Amsterdam GE Maccreanor, Maccreanor Lavington Architects
No.33 St. Kevin's Road, Portobello, Dublin 8 David O'Shea, Darrell O'Donoghue, ODOS Architects
Athlone Civic Centre, Library & Town Square Keith Williams, Richard Brown, Keith Williams Architects

The assessors for the AAI Awards 2006 were as follows: Andrej Hrausky, architectural critic, architect, and director of DESSA Architecture Centre and Association, Ljubljana (Slovenia); Carmeé Pinõs, architect, Barcelona (Spain); Dominic Steven, architect, Leitrim; Prof. Ciaran Benson, professor of psychology, University College Dublin (distinguished non-architect).

No comments: